Deep, Dark Woods

Barrett on Buildings

There are times in your life where you have to go deep into the woods, by yourself, to find answers. Some of these woods have trees.

I remember when I was in grade school, I would always try to find new neighborhoods with my bike. This wasn’t all that easy, because as a kid you’ve got maybe a five to seven mile range on your bike. Where I lived it was all suburbs for a solid (seems like) seven miles in any given direction.

Green moss would form on the tops of ponds, making it almost look like grass. And I would pretend that the moss really was grass, and that where the pond turned a corner into the woods that was actually a path into the woods that I could maybe follow. And no one else could follow.

But it never was there.

I got older. When I got…

View original post 323 more words

Leave a Reply

