America’s Women: 400 Years of Dolls, Drudges, Helpmates, and Heroines

Eleventh Stack

America's Women

If I’m checking out a library book having anything to do with history, there’s a good chance it is for my husband. That’s his thing. He’s Mister Presidential Biography and certain time periods of interest and very little else.

Although I like to think of myself as a bit more diverse, literary-speaking, I admit my first section of choice isn’t always the history section. It feels too academic to me.

Which is why I was surprised at how much I enjoyed America’s Women: 400 Years of Dolls, Drudges, Helpmates, and Heroines by Gail Collins. As the title promises, Collins truly does pack 400 years of American women’s history into what is a chunkster of a book. Make no mistake, though: this is no dry textbook. Collins presents a comprehensive and thorough view of American women’s history in a way that is incredibly informative, engaging, shocking, and entertaining. At some points…

View original post 445 more words

Leave a Reply

