Sound and Movement

More Than Wanderlust

Candlelight service at GKMI. Candlelight service at GKMI.

Today’s the day to pack away my clothes, my notebooks, my camera, and everything that I have acquired while living in Indonesia. Right now a storm is rolling over the tops of houses and buildings, motorbikes are rumbling by, the food carts wheezing their existence, and the rain soft at first. I hear the chatter of the woman who helps with cleaning the house with my host sister who is tearing open a plastic snack wrapper. I hear the creak of her chair as she leans back into it, music leaking out of her speakers. Now the woman who helps clean is systematically ironing clothes, the slight rustling of fabric and the ironing board. My host father is roaming about his office, whistling, and I hear the whiz of a bicycle wheel. My host mother squeaks open the door to the bedroom and whispers something to…

View original post 502 more words

Leave a Reply

